Questions about the Smell of my mouse cage... Please anwser ASAP :)

Go down

Questions about the Smell of my mouse cage... Please anwser ASAP :) Empty Questions about the Smell of my mouse cage... Please anwser ASAP :)

Post by mousymom191 on Mon 31 Dec 2018, 9:31 pm

Hi, I just got a trio of females yesterday, and while the smell is not unbearable, it is definitely noticeable. I've just put in a packet of carbon to soak up the smell... which seems to be working a bit. I 'm just wondering if there are any more safe options. Also, I just wanted to make sure that a smelly cage for females is normal, since I've been hearing so much about males, but not females. Lol, I'm very new to this!Smile

mousymom191
Jr Member
Jr Member

Libra Sheepish

Back to top Go down

Questions about the Smell of my mouse cage... Please anwser ASAP :) Empty Re: Questions about the Smell of my mouse cage... Please anwser ASAP :)

Post by chiroptera on Wed 02 Jan 2019, 1:46 am

@mouseymom191 Regardless of male or female, you're bound to have some smell, so it's nothing to worry about as far as the health of your mice! There are three animals living (and pottying) in a relatively small space, so there's bound to be smell!

Make sure the carbon packet is outside the cage and not accessible to the mice, as I don't think it's safe to be inside the cage.

I'm not sure what else to do to reduce the smell, other than cleaning the cage once a week- cleaning too much might encourage them to reclaim their territory with their scent more than usual, and of course not cleaning enough allows the scent to build up.

Cool mouse mom to: Clue, Peebee, Nellie, Oakley, Frida, Frankie, Mary, Shelley, Spider, Thyme, Caramel, Olive, + Beetle
Love remembering: Trouble, Yahtzee, Checkers, Mahjong, Pumpkin, Jay, Sid, Zola, Hazelnut, Popcorn, + Dragon
chiroptera
chiroptera
Sr Member
Sr Member

Sagittarius Batty

https://gruntsmom.tumblr.com

Back to top Go down