Converted vivarium cage?

Go down

Converted vivarium cage? Empty Converted vivarium cage?

Post by EllaGloss on Sun 18 Aug 2019, 4:53 pm

Hi-

I am struggling to find a cage I am happy with. I want to get some kind of tank/vivarium rather than a wire cage but one that opens from the front (rather than just the top). The exo-terra reptile cages but are the closest I’ve found but I have heard the mesh on the top is too small to hang things and they chew the front plastic. eg https://www.petsathome.com/shop/en/pets/exo-terra-natural-terrarium-large-%28online-only%29-7111172p--1

Would it be possible to convert a reptile vivarium (eg. viv exotic) by replacing the lid with a mesh top to improve ventilation? This would be an ideal. I’m not experienced in DIY so if anyone has any ideas as to how I would go about this and/or any suggestions as to where I could buy a similar front-opening glass cage suitable for mice.

Thanks in advance!

EllaGloss

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Converted vivarium cage? Empty Re: Converted vivarium cage?

Post by Robin~ on Sun 18 Aug 2019, 4:59 pm

That should be ok provided the lid is meshed. I mean, just meshing the lid provides the same ventilation as a regular old tank and those are a staple in mouse care, so i wouldn't see it as an issue. I know at least most cages like that here in the US come with mesh tops, some of which can come off entirely for easy access/cleaning.

As for chewing, my girls actually don't have any issues with chewing the cage itself, even though there are a few chewholds. As long as the tank is packed (if you need some examples let me know!) and you give a nice amount of playtime your mice should be pretty content.

My only qualm would be the price, but if you're willing to pay that I say go for it!
Robin~
Robin~

Sagittarius Cheerful

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by EllaGloss on Mon 19 Aug 2019, 4:26 am