Opinions on this food?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Opinions on this food?

Post by GeoHiccup on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 12:55 pm

Hi all, would just like a second opinion on this if anyone is willing to take a look Smile

Opinions on this food? Mouse_11
Opinions on this food? Mouse_10

I havent used that method of putting pictures onto a forum before, hope it worked! If not I'll upload another way Smile

GeoHiccup
New Member
New Member

Join date : 2016-07-03
Posts : 13
Likes : 1

Taurus Cloud 9

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by AnonONIagent on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 1:15 pm

Personally I dislike these biscuit-based scientific diets because they're very boring for the mice so you have to supplement it with a large variety of treats. Seed and grain mixes, while they aren't quite as nutritionally complete, let the mice pick and choose what they want to eat, and are more interesting for them, I think. I'd personally rather give my mice something that makes them happier even if it isn't quite as good for them.

_________________
"Heralds of the coming doom, by cry of raven, we are drawn. This oath of war and vengeance, on blade of exalted iron sworn. With blood-anointed swords aloft, advance we into dread's dark shade. Punishment divine unleashed with hate, a wrathful storm of bolt and blade. Purge with plasma, fist, and shell; bring cleansing fire's righteous breath. For the Emperor, knights of Caliban! The Lion's anointed Angels of Death! No forgiveness. No retreat."

My current mice: Sally (PEW), Selina (Broken Black), and Olivia (Broken Tricolor)

Rainbow bridge: Molly (PEW), Lucy (Brindle), and Sarah (PEW)
AnonONIagent
AnonONIagent
Sr Member
Sr Member

Join date : 2016-06-30
Posts : 366
Likes : 54

Scorpio

http://anononiagent.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by CallaLily on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 1:16 pm

I think it's an ok block food but I would also recommend combining it with a good seed mix.  Block alone gets very boring for mice.


Last edited by CallaLily on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 2:41 pm; edited 2 times in total

CallaLily
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-03
Posts : 3937
Likes : 1107

No Mood

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by CinnamonPearl on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 1:32 pm

I'm completely with Anon. Lab blocks aren't a great staple for mice. Mice need to be mentally stimulated by getting to choose and shuck their food, and lab blocks take that away from them. The ingredients don't list crude protein, so I can't be sure whether it's allergenic or not.

_________________
Opinions on this food? Mouse_12
CinnamonPearl
CinnamonPearl
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-06
Posts : 1725
Likes : 256

Pisces

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by MouseLover on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 2:29 pm

My mice really like these biscuits. I like the fact that they're nutritionally complete, which is why I offer them to my mice, but as others have said - it can be boring for your mice to eat nothing but the same thing. So I like to go for the best of both worlds, and I also offer another mouse food which is more of your standard seed mix. Saying that, my mice pick the science selective biscuits out first, so they obviously really like them.

_________________
Current Mice: None.
Rainbow Bridge: Daisy, Peach, Ivy, Penelope, Hazel, Ruby, Clover, Peanut, Minnie, Ginger,  Honey, Violet, Flora, Fauna and Merryweather.
MouseLover
MouseLover
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-12
Posts : 1462
Likes : 246

Scorpio Sleepy

https://www.instagram.com/lexymullins

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by River on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 4:08 pm

Many people dislike lab blocks as it doesn't provide that foraging instinct mice need to fulfill to be happy, but personally, I don't see them as too big of a problem. Though with lab blocks you may want to scatter them around the cage to provide enrichment, as this will allow them to have fun by searching for them. You may also supplement them with treats or a bit of seed mix, if you'd like - this is highly suggested.

Lab blocks have a pretty big perk, though, in the sense that they'll provide all the needed nutrients to keep your mice healthy. They're particularly beneficial for picky eaters.

Science Selective, from what I've heard, is among the best lab block. It must be tasty as well, as MouseLover isn't the first person I've seen who says their mice prefer them over seed mix.

That being said, I think SS is a pretty good food for mice, although I still suggest supplementing it with some healthy treats so your pet doesn't get bored.

_________________
Mouse26
Hearts
Remembering Maier, Graham & Garcia
River
River
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-06-19
Posts : 1168
Likes : 255

Pisces Festive

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by CinnamonPearl on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 5:13 pm

Or just use seeds as a base mix and add lab blocks to the mix, so your mice get the best of both worlds. Could you call the company and ask what their crude protein levels are? It doesn't say on the website but it's important to know.

_________________
Opinions on this food? Mouse_12
CinnamonPearl
CinnamonPearl
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-06
Posts : 1725
Likes : 256

Pisces

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by MouseLover on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 5:29 pm

Think it says 14% on the packet.

_________________
Current Mice: None.
Rainbow Bridge: Daisy, Peach, Ivy, Penelope, Hazel, Ruby, Clover, Peanut, Minnie, Ginger,  Honey, Violet, Flora, Fauna and Merryweather.
MouseLover
MouseLover
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-12
Posts : 1462
Likes : 246

Scorpio Sleepy

https://www.instagram.com/lexymullins

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by CinnamonPearl on Wed 06 Jul 2016, 8:53 pm

That's protein, not crude protein. They're different.

_________________
Opinions on this food? Mouse_12
CinnamonPearl
CinnamonPearl
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-06
Posts : 1725
Likes : 256

Pisces

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by stephlisa on Thu 07 Jul 2016, 2:36 am

I use this mixed in with a seed mix for Colin because he was selectively feeding. He absolutely loves these and always eats it first generally (which makes me happy because I know he's getting a balanced diet, but he can still chose whether he actually wants it or not.
My only comment is that the blocks are quite big so I tend to break it up into smaller pieces, but he does love it!

Edit to add: not sure how true or where I heard it, but I've heard that some vets here in the UK recommend this for very over/under weight mice.

_________________
Remembering Basil, Pumpkin & Colin
stephlisa
stephlisa
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-03
Posts : 522
Likes : 142

Aquarius Zen
1st Place -- November 2016

http://instagram.com/stephanellimouse

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by MouseLover on Thu 07 Jul 2016, 8:06 am

stephlisa I also break them up as they are pretty big Smile I've heard that some vets recommend it over here.

_________________
Current Mice: None.
Rainbow Bridge: Daisy, Peach, Ivy, Penelope, Hazel, Ruby, Clover, Peanut, Minnie, Ginger,  Honey, Violet, Flora, Fauna and Merryweather.
MouseLover
MouseLover
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-12
Posts : 1462
Likes : 246

Scorpio Sleepy

https://www.instagram.com/lexymullins

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by GeoHiccup on Thu 07 Jul 2016, 1:07 pm

Thanks all for replying to this all your answers have been an emmense help Very Happy
I will get a selection of mixed food and mix it in with this SS food Smile
Thanks all!
Georgia Smile

GeoHiccup
New Member
New Member

Join date : 2016-07-03
Posts : 13
Likes : 1

Taurus Cloud 9

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by MouseLover on Thu 07 Jul 2016, 2:38 pm

Sounds good Georgia. Best of both worlds I think Thumbs Up

_________________
Current Mice: None.
Rainbow Bridge: Daisy, Peach, Ivy, Penelope, Hazel, Ruby, Clover, Peanut, Minnie, Ginger,  Honey, Violet, Flora, Fauna and Merryweather.
MouseLover
MouseLover
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-12
Posts : 1462
Likes : 246

Scorpio Sleepy

https://www.instagram.com/lexymullins

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by CallaLily on Tue 12 Jul 2016, 8:23 am

@MouseLover wrote:Think it says 14% on the packet.
@CinnamonPearl wrote:That's protein, not crude protein. They're different.

I looked into this because I have actually placed an order through viovet and this food is in it. Totally missed that it just says "protein" everywhere and not "crude protein."  I ended up emailing the company because I couldn't find anything anywhere.  Their response was even though the packaging only says "protein," 14% is indeed the CRUDE protein amount. Don't know why they left the word crude out of it.
Opinions on this food? Screen12

CallaLily
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-03
Posts : 3937
Likes : 1107

No Mood

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by MouseLover on Tue 12 Jul 2016, 1:06 pm

Good to know CallaLily, thanks Smile

_________________
Current Mice: None.
Rainbow Bridge: Daisy, Peach, Ivy, Penelope, Hazel, Ruby, Clover, Peanut, Minnie, Ginger,  Honey, Violet, Flora, Fauna and Merryweather.
MouseLover
MouseLover
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-12
Posts : 1462
Likes : 246

Scorpio Sleepy

https://www.instagram.com/lexymullins

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this food? Empty Re: Opinions on this food?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum