Peanut has had babies! - I am still new to mice in genereal - i need help!

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Peanut has had babies! - I am still new to mice in genereal - i need help!

Post by timez on Thu 28 Apr 2016, 5:35 am

Hi,

I have a pet mouse who i thought was male (but was not sure).

I have gone to clean the cage today and found her igloo filled to the top with bedding (which was unusual because its normally just a 'floor' normally)...

I thought maybe she was just scared more than usual for some reason and started to gentlly remove bedding because i thought Peanut was stuck in there!

I lifted a peice of bedding and found a baby mouse (She must have had them last night)

i immediatlly replaced all the bedding and put the top back on the igloo and placed it back in the cage

Im new to mice in general and although i am currentlly reading what to do when a mouse gives birth - I still need some help - i feel overwhelmed with information and i could really do with some advice.

(I hope by me doing what i did didnt disturb her too much - i dont think she saw what happend - and when she came out to check what was going on she was already back in her cage - so with any luck she wont do anything mad.

Timez

timez

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Peanut has had babies! - I am still new to mice in genereal - i need help!

Post by MouseLover on Thu 28 Apr 2016, 6:13 am

I've not had mouse babies before, so I can't offer advice. I'm sure someone will be along to help soon. For now, just disturb Peanut as little as you can, because if she feels unsafe she is more likely to cannibalise her babies. Was it just the one baby?

MouseLover

Scorpio Sleepy

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by timez on Thu 28 Apr 2016, 6:38 am

Yeah thats what im doing at the moment - just leaving her to it - i was just about to also do another taming session with her as well - guess thats off the table for now then?