changing behaviour help!

Go down

changing behaviour help!

Post by jazjazjaz on Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:30 pm

Hi all,
Hoping some more seasoned mice owners can help me with this one!
I bought two mice a month ago, Patty and Lego. I was told they were sisters and so far they have been the best of friends, sleeping together, grooming etc. They have the odd fall out, usually over the wheel but they never get really aggressive with each other.

The last couple of days Lego (who I had identified as the alpha) has been chased away from the ground floor of the cage. Everytime she goes downstairs Patty (who is usually more timid and gets bullied a bit by Lego) chases her away.

Patty has stopped sleeping in their house and has built a nest in a new part of the cage. Lego isn't staying in the house either, she is staying on the top floor of the cage with no bedding. I've also noticed that Lego seems to have some pretty sizable balls for a female mouse....

I'm no expert at all but I've been thinking maybe Lego is male and Patty is pregnant and her aggression and new nest are to keep her babies safe?

Any ideas? I've read through the forum and seen the "no blood no separation rule" so I am following that, but I'm scared of more tensions and want to get to the bottom of this power shift/behavioural change!

Thanks in advance micey pals

jazjazjaz

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: changing behaviour help!

Post by AnonONIagent on Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:10 pm

If you have any suspicion that one of them is a male, separate them immediately. Especially if you believe one may be pregnant.

Has Patty changed in size recently? Have you checked over the cage thoroughly for babies? If there is any chance there are babies in the cage, Lego should be removed immediately, regardless of Lego's actual gender.

Place Lego in a clear glass/plastic jar or cup and take pictures of the genital area and post them here.