Food for Nursing Mothers and Auntie

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Food for Nursing Mothers and Auntie

Post by susb8383c on Tue 19 Dec 2017, 7:31 pm

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum. I've had just a few pet mice in the past but not very many. I just rescued three female pews from that art gallery in NYC that was using live mice for an exhibit. The artist put all the mice together before the rescue group picked them up. Two of the three were pregnant and they just gave birth at exactly the same time. I have no experience at all with mice litters, but some with rat litters.

I have them all together in a 10 gallon tank. They gave birth in the plastic igloo. I read the breeding guide and have not disturbed the nesting area at all. I hear a lot of squeaking and caught sight of one with a milk band.

The three females are great. They take turns hanging out with the babies.

I have a couple of questions, but any additional advice you'd like to throw my way would be appreciated.

1. This may sound funny, but I'm not 100% sure which are the two mothers. I thought I knew and marked their tails with non-toxic magic marker after they gave birth. But when I was holding what I thought were the two mothers (they are pretty friendly considering their history. One climbed right in my hand, the other climbed in from the wheel), Auntie was in with the babies in the Maternity Igloo. I could see a little through the translucent plastic and it looked like they pups were nursing. So maybe who I thought was Auntie is really mommy, but I thought I saw the same thing happen with who I thought was mommy. Is it possible that a non-pregnant mouse can develop milk to help feed? Or might she just be going through the motions of nursing even though she doesn't have anything for them (I've seen rats do this)?