Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Carefresh Opinions

Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Carefresh Opinions

Post by CucumberMouse on Sun 07 Jan 2018, 7:23 pm

What are all of your experiences an opinions on carefresh? I've heard some people say it's the best thing they've found for odor control, and some say the exact opposite, so I was just curious about what people on this forum thought. Smile
CucumberMouse
CucumberMouse
Sr Member
Sr Member

Join date : 2017-09-25
Posts : 158
Sheepish

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by CallaLily on Mon 08 Jan 2018, 8:54 am

I feel like its just as good for odor control as most paper based beddings. Which is to say, ok. I switch between it and clean & cozy, depending on which I can find a better deal on.

CallaLily
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-03
Posts : 3937
No Mood

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by stephlisa on Mon 08 Jan 2018, 9:36 am

I like using Carefresh for the colours. Due to my boys cage I can't really comment on odour control as I know the cage will smell due to soiled paper on the shelf levels. The boys like it as the base for their nests though and I like the colours I can get here.

_________________
Remembering Basil, Pumpkin & Colin
stephlisa
stephlisa
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-04-03
Posts : 522
Aquarius Zen
1st Place -- November 2016

http://instagram.com/stephanellimouse

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by Chinchillasxoxo on Mon 08 Jan 2018, 11:38 am

Care fresh is okay is you purchase the natural ones. I have found the brightly coloured ones tend to not take in as much odour. But because I live in NZ I don't have a huge amount of options. The ones that don't have odour control probably don't work as well.
Chinchillasxoxo
Chinchillasxoxo
Full Member
Full Member

Join date : 2017-09-09
Posts : 69

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by chiroptera on Tue 09 Jan 2018, 8:28 pm

@CucumberMouse I love it, because it's safe and pretty, and it's not super messy! I never really minded the smell of my girls, so I may not be the best judge, but I think it works pretty well at controlling odor.

Now that I've got my boy, we'll have to see if I still feel the same way in a week or so, though. Laughing

_________________
Bat tabby | she/her | 24 | tx, usa Bat
★Mouse Dossier★
my mouse gallery


Cool mouse mom to: Pronto, Nellie, Frankie, + Zinnia
Love remembering: Trouble, Yahtzee, Checkers, Mahjong, Clue, Pumpkin, Spider, Beetle, Peebee, Jay, Sid, Zola, Caramel, Hazelnut, Bonny, Thyme, Olive, Popcorn, Shelley, Frida, Lovey, Dragon + Pancake
chiroptera
chiroptera
Sr Member
Sr Member

Join date : 2017-11-23
Posts : 469
Sagittarius Batty

https://gruntsmom.tumblr.com

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by River on Wed 10 Jan 2018, 11:07 am

It isn't my favorite. Its dustier than most paper beddings and doesn't hold burrows quite as well, but as far as odor control, its pretty good. I use it fairly often, but I prefer Kaytee.
River
River
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-06-19
Posts : 1216
Pisces Sweet Tooth

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by PastelMouse on Sat 27 Jan 2018, 3:38 pm

Personally I prefer Clean & Cozy over Carefresh, but it's also a great bedding. I've never had a big problem with dust and it always covered up odor fine for me. The wide range of colors is definitely a big plus, and it is quite soft as well.

_________________
Currently have 2 dogs and a turtle, hoping to get a mouse soon. Smile
PastelMouse
PastelMouse
Sr Member
Sr Member

Join date : 2017-04-08
Posts : 104
Cheerful

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by Rodents rock! on Mon 05 Feb 2018, 8:09 pm

I've used Carefresh for years and I think it controls odor well and I don't find it dusty. I have no complaints about it, except it would be nice if it weren't so expensive.
Rodents rock!
Rodents rock!
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-06-27
Posts : 1818
Happy

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by Nijimi にじみ on Tue 06 Feb 2018, 8:52 am

I use 1/2 aspen and then 1/2 confetti carefresh on top. Works nice.

_________________
Kimchi Cat11 Fig
Nijimi にじみ
Nijimi にじみ
Full Member
Full Member

Join date : 2017-08-29
Posts : 83

Back to top Go down

Carefresh Opinions Empty Re: Carefresh Opinions

Post by River on Wed 21 Feb 2018, 3:05 pm

I know this is old but I thought I'd come back to it because I just got a new bag of Carefresh and I do think this bedding smells more like chemicals than Kaytee does. I noticed it before but I tend to forget. Doesn't seem to be too strong or bother the mice but worth noting.

_________________
Mouse26
Hearts
One nameless, hairless boy
Remembering Maier, Graham & Garcia
River
River
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-06-19
Posts : 1216
Pisces Sweet Tooth

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum