Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First Introduction Went Wrong

Go down

First Introduction Went Wrong Empty First Introduction Went Wrong

Post by katafrat on Sun 19 Apr 2020, 1:16 am

♡ thank you for taking the time to read this! ♡
-- hello! so i'll give you a quick preface on how this all started out. i am relatively new to mouse care and my main priority is making sure i am giving the babies proper care. Smile

my original mouse, maya is a sweet girl. her cagemate, pearl passed away about 3 weeks ago from a tumor, so she grieved for a long while. i ended up adopting a bonded pair, named primrose ("prim") and iris. ♡
i let the new mice settle in for about 2 weeks, before thinking of introducing them. i first introduced prim and maya to each other on neutral territory last night, and they both got along perfectly. not a single squabble, squeak, or fight from the either of them. this was a really good sign.

so tonight, i decided to put both primrose and iris in the neutral cage with maya to see if she would get along with iris.

however, iris and maya initially fought, but no squeaking from the either of them. i thought this was a dominance thing, because neither of them seemed the least bit afraid of each other. i ended up separating them after i saw a drop of blood (i think?) on a nearby toilet paper tube. primrose was very distraught by this and was tail rattling, hiding in a paper towel tube while iris and maya went at it.

so i brought prim back to her cage, let her calm down, and separated both maya and iris for the night.

i have a couple of questions. ♡
- do you think there is a possibility of me reintroducing maya and iris in a couple of days? (they did not spend the entire time fighting, and i separated them for the night when they were not fighting.
- is there any particular reason why they were not squeaking at each other? this is more of a curious thing.