Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding?

Go down

Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding? Empty Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding?

Post by Vladka31 on Thu 28 May 2020, 2:33 am

Hi guys, so I have heard of some people using a spray to disinfect their dirt once a week and was wondering if this is important, helpful, and if there are any product recommendations?

I have been using dirt for bedding for several months now and I don’t currently disinfect it and I only change it every 3 month or if someone dies in it, which isn’t very often so I figured it might be good to clean it. Currently I just spray it with water every day or two to keep it moist and make sure it’s still taking care of the door and eating their waste well. It’s been doing a great job! I recently added a lot more mice and it’s been doing good but I want to make sure it’s safe and clean.Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding? Aef36110
Vladka31
Vladka31

Back to top Go down

Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding? Empty Re: Do you guys disinfect your dirt bedding?

Post by Robin~ on Thu 28 May 2020, 6:02 am

Hello!

I'd like to start by suggesting against using dirt as a primary bedding--it's either far too damp and can cause URIs or too dry and doesn't hold burrows, which can lead to a lack of thermoregulation, which can cause URIs. The reason dirt works in the wild is it has plenty of root systems to help keep burrows in place even when dry, but these aren't present in domestic habitats. It could make for a fun play area, but the main substrate should be a dust-free, burrow-friendly bedding.

As for disinfecting, unless you have decompositional insects in there, I doubt things are really breaking down. I would suggest changing the bedding every week much like any other bedding. Smile

hello3
Robin~
Robin~
Sr Member
Sr Member

Sagittarius Bookworm

Back to top Go down