Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello!

Go down

Hello!  Empty Hello!

Post by Eli993 on Tue 25 Aug 2020, 2:47 pm

Hello everyone! My name is Eli. I've owned fish, frogs, a cat, budgies (I currently have four of those little guys) and have lived with dogs as well, but this is my first time with mice. I'm super excited, I've had a lot of great experiences with different rodents I'm so excited to experience more with my very own. I currently have two named Purdy and Algernon (my friend named the second one, I don't know where she got that name from) I do have one question though, my budgies are flighted and everyday they were out of their cage during their more active times (usually in the early morning and mid afternoon). Durning their preening/napping times they are closed into their cages so they don't perch on my furniture and poop all over my stuff while they sleep. I know budgies are prey animals and mine pose no threat to the mice, but will them flying/possibly landing beside or on the mouse tank terrify the mice? Will it cause them a lot of stress? I'm super excited to be part of this forum and have already learned so much since becoming a member yesterday
Eli993
Eli993

Back to top Go down

Hello!  Empty Re: Hello!

Post by MerciToujoursMaPetiteBoop on Tue 25 Aug 2020, 5:12 pm

Either read Flowers For Algernon, or see the movie version, Charly, for which Cliff Robertson won an Academy Award as best actor.

I don't know that it is possible to predict how your mousies will react to any of the other animals in your family, but you might want to take the exposure slowly so you can watch for any anxiety problems.