Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Opinions on this cage?

Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Opinions on this cage?

Post by CuriousWhiskers on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 6:37 pm

This is the cage I have for housing my rat when I clean his cage. Would it work for a mouse/mice? Dimensions are 16 inches long, 11.8 inches wide, and 14.6 inches tall.Opinions on this cage? Image12
Opinions on this cage? Image11
Opinions on this cage? Image10

Note: all of the accessories that came with the cage are pretty bad quality, so I would probably just use my own DIY shelves and such.
CuriousWhiskers
CuriousWhiskers
Jr Member
Jr Member

Join date : 2020-11-29
Posts : 21
Happy

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by Peachy on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 7:13 pm

I’ve used this cage for one of my old boys. You can see my set up with it here:
https://www.petmousefanciers.com/t230-housing-pictures#2704

It’s a little on the small side for one male and I would say too small for any number of females, especially given a recent reconsideration of “standards” among pet owners, but if YOU are ok with that and you have lots of time to dedicate to time out and making it interesting, then it’s just fine!
Peachy
Peachy
Moderator
Moderator

Join date : 2016-04-06
Posts : 3103
Scorpio Dancing

River and CuriousWhiskers like this post

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by disastervibe on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 7:25 pm

Hi! The recommended minimum floor space for 1 male mouse or 2-3 female mice is 300 square inches, but some people prefer to bump that up to 400 sq. inches, so at 188.8 sq. inches I would say go bigger. Burrowing space is also super important for them, so you'll want a minimum of around 3-4 inches of bedding, meaning the tray/pan at the bottom should be deeper than 4 inches ideally (not sure how deep this one is).

You'd be looking for something that's at least 20in x 15in. or 20in x 20in. Personally, I have a couple of female mice in the Prevue 528 Universal Small Animal Home, which is also a barred cage with a tray about 6 inches or so deep and a floor space of 617.5 sq. in. (32.5in x 19in). My girls seem to love it, and the one I received is well built and easy to assemble, so I definitely recommend it. https://www.amazon.com/Prevue-Pet-Products-528-Universal/dp/B074FH47MQ/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=prevue+528&qid=1606785512&sr=8-2
Of course, you can still go quite a bit smaller than Prevue cage.

disastervibe
Jr Member
Jr Member

Join date : 2020-11-11
Posts : 46
Taurus

River and CuriousWhiskers like this post

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by CuriousWhiskers on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 7:39 pm

@disastervibe wrote:Hi! The recommended minimum floor space for 1 male mouse or 2-3 female mice is 300 square inches, but some people prefer to bump that up to 400 sq. inches, so at 188.8 sq. inches I would say go bigger. Burrowing space is also super important for them, so you'll want a minimum of around 3-4 inches of bedding, meaning the tray/pan at the bottom should be deeper than 4 inches ideally (not sure how deep this one is).

You'd be looking for something that's at least 20in x 15in. or 20in x 20in. Personally, I have a couple of female mice in the Prevue 528 Universal Small Animal Home, which is also a barred cage with a tray about 6 inches or so deep and a floor space of 617.5 sq. in. (32.5in x 19in). My girls seem to love it, and the one I received is well built and easy to assemble, so I definitely recommend it.
Of course, you can still go quite a bit smaller than Prevue cage.
Okay, good to know. I actually have the Prevue 528 as well, but it is currently occupied by the cutie in my avatar. Smile
CuriousWhiskers
CuriousWhiskers
Jr Member
Jr Member

Join date : 2020-11-29
Posts : 21
Happy

disastervibe likes this post

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by chiroptera on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 8:05 pm

I definitely would suggest going bigger for girls, it's pretty small, especially if you only consider uninterrupted floor space. I'd also be a bit nervous about bar spacing, from the pictures it looks like they're pretty wide.

_________________
Bat tabby | she/her | 25 | tx, usa Bat
★Mouse Dossier★
my mouse gallery


Cool mouse mom to: Pronto, Nellie, Frankie, + Zinnia
Love remembering: My dearest Trouble and all her siblings who've joined her across the rainbow bridge. Love
chiroptera
chiroptera
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2017-11-23
Posts : 545
Sagittarius Batty

https://gruntsmom.tumblr.com

CuriousWhiskers likes this post

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by River on Mon 30 Nov 2020, 8:40 pm

I assume you're interested in a boy?

The minimum cage size is widely debated, especially when it comes to males. I have heard everything from 'a single boy needs a detolf to make up for the social isolation' to 'males patrol their territory and stress when given too much of it.'

Personally, I don't think either is quite true. What I do is base it on the individual mouse if you have the resources to do so. For example, when I got into mice 200 sq. inches was seen as the minimum for one on pretty much every site you came across. So, that's what I used. Most of my mice seemed fine with this. After bringing home my new boy I realized rather quickly that he was not. I added a tank topper (I've noticed most mice do appreciate levels, though I'd still have a minimum for unbroken space), and he settled in right away. What I learned about him was that his minimum wasn't 200 sq inches -- it was probably more like 300. Since there's no set 'minimum' right now and every page and site I'm on seems to disagree, I think basing it on the individual mouse is a good way to go about it. Maybe I'm wrong, though lol. I feel like I'm new to this all over again.

If you don't have a lot of different cage options laying around I would probably buy something around 360 sq inches (the equivalent of a 20 gallon). They're easy to find and a good medium-size approved by almost everyone...though we know standards are always changing. As they should, I suppose.

_________________
Mouse26
Hearts
Caillou/Caliban ♂
Remembering Maier, Graham & Garcia ♀
River
River
Hero Member
Hero Member

Join date : 2016-06-19
Posts : 1310
Pisces Sweet Tooth

disastervibe and CuriousWhiskers like this post

Back to top Go down

Opinions on this cage? Empty Re: Opinions on this cage?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum