Pet Mouse Fanciers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Orphaned Mice, What Kind?

2 posters

Go down

Orphaned Mice, What Kind? Empty Orphaned Mice, What Kind?

Post by Kkameleon Wed 01 Jun 2022, 12:51 pm

Hello! I’m new to the mouse world. The other day I found three orphaned baby mice. According to my research they are probably about 14+ days old? Two had not opened their eyes, but just this morning they opened and they’ve gained energy. I’ve been feeding them kitten formula and just now started giving them sweet peas and seeds which they are slowly enjoying.
They are pooping on their own, as well.

I want them to live the best possible life. I understand that they probably won’t do well in the wild since I found with their eyes closed and have been handling them with human contact.

Can anyone tell me if this is a deer mouse or a house mouse? I can’t seem to distinguish even though I’ve read tons of things. I do live in the woods, but many descriptions of them also match a house mouse as well so I’m not sure.

Obviously I would be concerned about diseases if keeping them as pets. Can babies carry disease this young? They are so adorable and I’d like to keep them if possible but there are various things to consider so I’m not sure what to do.

Thank you! Orphaned Mice, What Kind? C0167810
Orphaned Mice, What Kind? 93f9ad10
Orphaned Mice, What Kind? 08974f10

Kkameleon

Back to top Go down

Orphaned Mice, What Kind? Empty Re: Orphaned Mice, What Kind?

Post by Kkameleon Wed 01 Jun 2022, 1:03 pm

Kkameleon wrote:Hello! I’m new to the mouse world. The other day I found three orphaned baby mice. According to my research they are probably about 14+ days old? Two had not opened their eyes, but just this morning they opened and they’ve gained energy. I’ve been feeding them kitten formula and just now started giving them sweet peas and seeds which they are slowly enjoying.