New Female Trio - Appropriate Behavior to Build Trust?

Go down

New Female Trio - Appropriate Behavior to Build Trust?

Post by USFancy on Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:43 pm

Hello everyone!

I just had a few questions regarding appropriate behavior in establishing trust and a bonding relationship with my new mice. First, ill tell you a little about myself as a mouse owner. I am fairly new to owning mice, we bought a male mouse 6 months ago for my daughter and I fell in love with how smart and personable they are. Over this time i began researching mice and found that they are "Social" creatures who prefer to live in societies. But of course we all know 2 males will fight, especially if I didn't get them from same litter. During these 6 months I also had the joy of building and redesigning the cage by adding on a bunch of tubing and toys (I am in my 3rd year going for engineering at USF University of South Florida so you can imagine I took off with this haha) Now, the cage became too big for one mouse so we gave the male to my niece and Friday night purchased 3 female "Fancy" mice from a very credible petsmart in a higher class area that only ever carried females for sale. I already had the cage cleaned out and set up for when we returned with the new additions. I just have a few questions for you all so I may establish a great bond with these girls.

1. First off, is it normal at first for 1-2 of them be a little aggressive? at first it was the biggest one but now she layed off after what I think was her showing who is boss. the middle one kind of picks on the little one from time to time.....no blood, bruises or pulled hair yet.

2. I read it is important to allow a few days before I start handling them, they seem pretty curious of me already but I will hold off. When I do begin this, should I try to hand tame them with treats or some other method?

3. How canI find local mouse breeders? I searched for a long time and I found nothing near me.